Ma’s Spice Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

August 31, 2008 at 3:17 am Leave a comment

Mom always used to switch on WBAB when she made this recipe. We would get all the ingredients out on the counter, along with a big bowl and the measuring cups. Mom, Kel and I would decide who was going to measure and who was going to use the electric mixer. Zepplin was on in the background. (Gonna give you my love!!) One by one, the ingredients were dumped into the bowl, mixed at the highest speed possible since it was just soo much cooler to mix it really quickly than it was to wait for it to be mixed. This was just one of those recipes that didn’t call for a certain order in which you added the ingredients. This was one of those recipes where you just mixed it all up until it looked like a sweet brown-specked goop. We poured it into a pan, waited the long 30 minutes which seemed to us unbearable as the smells of the cake emanated from the oven and each minute grew stronger and stronger until (BEEP) we could take it out of the oven and cut it up and then subsequently eat it up. I don’t think it lasted more than a couple days in our house.

I spruced it up a bit this time by adding a Cream Cheese Frosting and a layer of Blackberry jam.

Ma’s Spice Cake:

¾ c. Butter
2-¼ c. Sifted Flour
1 c. Sugar
¾ c. Brown Sugar
2 tbsp. Molasses
3 Eggs
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt
¾ tsp. Baking Soda
¾ tsp. Cinnamon
½ tsp. Nutmeg
1 c. Milk

Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter, sugar and molasses for about 5 minutes. Add the 3 eggs, one at a time, waiting until the mixture is fully incorporated before adding another egg. Then add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in three installments, alternating with the milk. When it’s all mixed, pour it into two 9″ cake pans. Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick stuck into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

Then make the cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 8oz package of Cream Cheese
3 Tbsp Butter
1 tsp. Vanilla
2 c. Confectioners Sugar

Cream the Cream Cheese and Butter until smooth. Then add the vanilla and Sugar until a spreadable consistency is reached.

Layer the cakes however you want, and then ice it up. Make it look pretty, m’kay? I made some roses out of Royal Icing (See Recipe below) and decorated my cake with ’em. They didn’t come out as well as I had hoped, but they look alright for my first try. I went on youtube.com a little later and saw this woman make buttercream roses and now I feel like a little sad piper. I can’t do that yet, but I hope I can learn how to make roses that fast! She decorates a half sheet cake in under 4 minutes. Geez!

Royal Icing Recipe:

2 Egg Whites
1 tsp Cream of tartar
3 c. Confectioners Sugar
2 tsp Lemon Juice

Whip up those egg whites until you get soft peaks. Add the lemon juice and then gradually add the confectioners sugar until it reaches a stiff consistency. I wanted mine stiff because I was going to be piping with it. You might want to make it a little thinner if you’re going to be writing with it, or creating delicate, intricate details using the icing.

Happy Baking, Folks!

Also:
I’ve made it to my goal. I’m 155lbs now. That was the goal that I set for myself at the beginning of the summer. I wanted to lose 15 lbs and I’ve done it. It was a great feeling to step on that scale and see the little needle land on 155. Felt good.

The only thing that would feel better would be switching on WBAB and making a Spicecake with my mom. I miss you.

Entry filed under: frosting, Recipe. Tags: , .

The Seventies Never Tasted So Good Lavender Angel Food Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



