I am a Chocobot, not a Chocobo.

September 29, 2008 at 12:00 am 4 comments

I love chocolate.

It shouldn’t be too much of a surprise since a) I’m a girl, and most if not all girls love and NEED chocolate on a monthly basis… b) I’m a baker. c) I only function if there’s a constant stream of chocolate syrup dripping into my veins at all times.. I’m a Chocobot (not to be confused with a Chocobo.) So there. There are three good reasons why I love my chocolate and I’d die without it.

I made this dough last night and refrigerated it overnight so that when I woke up, I would be able to slice the log and bring the cookies into work for people to enjoy. (NOTE: These cookies hardly made it to work, they were so good… ) After all, I’m going to be there all day and I’d might as well ensure that everyone’s going to be a in a good mood. If chocolate doesn’t help them, then nothing will.

Chocominty Coconut Cookies

Chocominty Coconut Cookies

Chocominty Coconut Cookies

2/3 c whole-wheat pastry flour
3 tbsp c all-purpose flour
1/2 c plus 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2c shredded coconut
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 c packed light brown sugar
1/2 c granulated sugar
6 tbsp cool unsalted butter
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract

Mix all your ingredients together and then form into an 8 inch log before wrapping in saran wrap and letting it chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. Then, take it out and slice into 1/4 inch slices, place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until the edges start to crack. Enjoy!

I dipped them halfway into melted semi-sweet chocolate and then let them cool on parchment. They didn’t need it.. but damn, they were good with the extra chocolate. What cookie ISN’T good with some more chocolate?!

Entry filed under: chocolate, Cookies, Recipe. Tags: , , , .

Daring Bakers Challenge: Lavash Crackers The Domestic Scientist

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. desiresinspiration  |  December 7, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    are they supposed to be a bit crunchy?

    Reply
  • 2. dolcecakes  |  December 7, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    They’re a bit crunchy, yeah, but mostly they’re chewy. Try baking them a few minutes less if you’re not diggin’ the crunchyness.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Choco-Minty Goodness! « Inspiring Desire  |  December 7, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    […] when it goes down in price.  So, one day I’m blog strolling and I came across this blog, Dolcecakes.wordpress.com which features different baking recipes.  Now, while I think I have the cooking thing done pretty […]

    Reply
  • 4. Choco-Minty Goodness! « Cleo Sunshine  |  May 6, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    […] when it goes down in price.  So, one day I’m blog strolling and I came across this blog, Dolcecakes.wordpress.com which features different baking recipes.  Now, while I think I have the cooking thing done pretty […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



