Cakeoff Results

October 3, 2008 at 12:00 am 1 comment

Choco Cookies

Choco Cookies

I know I promised to get these to you guys by yesterday, but a few things popped up. I’ll try to keep this short and sweet. I went to the doctor yesterday and found out that I have to go through a battery of tests to figure out what’s goin’ on in my body. Sounds like fun, right? Right. I’ll keep you all updated let you know that I’m not going to die. Don’t worry. I AM, however, changing my diet around.

Recently, I’ve been following the South Beach Diet, eating less Carbs and more protein. This is proving to actually be to my detriment. I’ve decided that I’m going to start a Raw Foods diet. —HOLD IT. Don’t think that I’m crazy. I know that it’s harsh and it’s strict, but it is going to help out a couple of things in my life.

  • No. 1: I’ll be able to lose the extra weight I’m carrying around (which will help with my medical problems)\
  • No. 2: It’s an easy diet to follow, easy rules…
  • No. 3: It’ll help regulate my blood sugar (Also helping out with my medical problems)
  • No. 4: It’s closer to the way that I want to be eating than anything else. I want to be eating a very natural, simple diet, and this seems like the way to go for now. I’m sure that I’m probably going to end up eating Vegan at one point, but for now, I’m going to push it all the way and see how my body reacts. May not be the wisest choice, but I’ve always testes boundaries in order to find out where they lie.

So what’s going to happen to my baking style? I’m going to be baking strictly vegan from now on. When I bake, I’ll be testing my foods, so I won’t be COMPLETELY Raw Foodist, but I’ll be mostly. I still want to know whether what I’m making tastes good or feels good to me, and if it’s Vegan, then all the better! I would love to adapt cookie traditional cookie recipes into Vegan cookie recipes. And it has been my dream to someday own a bakery with health in mind. Imagine it: Herbal Teas, Coffees, vegan cakes, cookies and breads… It is my dream.

Enough of that. I just wanted to write about it so that it was concrete. As soon as I run out of my “dead” food (meats, eggs, dairy and cooked fruits and veggies) I’ll be buying and eating all raw foods. I’m already pretty good friend’s with my Produce section, but I imagine I might just grow a tad bit closer in the next couple of weeks. Wish me luck! I’ll give you all updates on how the diet is going, how it tastes and how my weight loss is going along. This is going to be tough!

ONTO THE CAKEOFF RESULTS!

This week I decided to find out if chocolate cookies had to be fattening in order to be tasty. The two recipes can be found here.

Cookies going head-to-head

Cookies going head-to-head

Chocolate Dream cookies (on the left) VS. Chunky Chocolate cookies (on the right)

…and the winner is….

Okay, hold on a second. There’s a tie! Why? Well, here are the results:

When the cookies were warm, fresh out of the oven, the vote was clearly with the Chocolate Dream cookies. These cookies were light, and crunchy, but chewy in the middle. There were tons of melty, delicious chocolate chunks in it and it tasted like… well, like a dream! The Chunky Chocolate cookies were okay. They were fluffy and light, cakey and moist. A good cookie, but not like a dream. So logic would tell you that the Dream was the winner. Not so fast!…

After refrigerating these cookies, the vote tipped WAY into Chunky’s favor. When they’re cold, these cookes are chewy, moist and.. Dare I say: Dreamy. Believe it. They taste WONDERFUL when cold. The dream cookies after being chilled were dry, crunchy and still pretty good, but not nearly as tasty as the Chunky.

So which one was the healthy one? The Chunky. And it held it’s own quite well, I think. However, straight out of the oven, (which is how most of my cookies are eaten cause they usually taste too darn good to get cooled off!) the dream cookie is still oh-so-good. I’ll be making these cookies again, hopefully… if I can figure out how to make ’em vegan!

Entry filed under: chocolate, Cookies, Recipe. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Chocolate Triple Threat Is that even possible?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. aubrey  |  October 5, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Good Luck and get well soon!

    also, those cookies sound mouth-watering…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



