Wanna Go Veggie with me?

February 19, 2009 at 10:43 am Leave a comment

Really, try and act surprised.

I think that I’m going vegetarian again. This time, I’ve done my research and figured out how to have a more balanced diet without relying on meat for protein. I’ve been doing alot of reading and a lot of thinking about being vegetarian. I think that the reason that it didn’t work for me before was because I wasn’t really paying attention to the amount of protein that I was eating. Now I’m much more knowledgable about the food that I’m putting in my mouth and I’m confident that I’ll be able to get all the proteins that I need without having to ingest another single tortured chicken/cow/pig/fish.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the abuse that the animals that we eat recieve before being shipped off to the slaughterhouse. I keep on thinking about my cats and how they live, and how we live, comfortably, happily. I want that for every other living thing. Animals think, eat, breathe, act in social circles and of course, have feelings, even if it is just “Oh, shit. They’re going to kill me.” I don’t want that for any animal. If I can help it, I want to make sure that no animal feels that way, ever… by not adding to the torture of animals for food.

It goes along with my feelings about spirituality… Remember that cardinal rule? To respect life. I don’t think that it just applies to us humans who have more complex thoughts. If everything comes from th same energy source and some of us may be reincarnated as other animals, then the chicken I’m eating for dinner might be my grandmother, or my next-door neighbor. I don’t know about you, but that makes me feel terrible. I have respect for the earth and I know that even if we were meant to be eating animals, the way that they are treated now is inhumane and far beyond the original purpose and lifestyle. I am confident in saying that if these animals were raised on a personal farm, living full lives (as full as a farm animal’s life can be[although, you can argue that most farm animals are as intelligent if not more intelligent than our domesticated counterparts, and therefore can life the same fulfilling lives as cats and dogs and parakeets…etc!]) until they died of natural causes, then I would be more inclined to eat them. But they are born and bred to be meaty, produce milk and eggs and of course, to be killed, after living what may be as much as 12 weeks of torture in small cages where they cannot move, much less live. These animals are stuffed into coops and stables where they have no room, they have no life and are sucked clean of the resources that we need from them. How would you feel if that were your child? Imagine a human baby, bred for meat. Living in a cage for 12 weeks with hundreds of other babies, fattened. And get this: the babies FIGHT for the food. They fight to live, only to be killed for their meat. I hate that idea, even if the reality of it is that it’s chickens and cows and pigs instead of babies.

Pigs have the intelligence of a 3 year old human child. Does that mean that we can treat austic individuals with the intelligence of a 3 year old the same way? Pigs have higher intelligence than dogs. If intelligence and brain function is what seperates them from us and the reason that it shouldn’t matter that we eat them, then why don’t we eat our dogs? Because they aren’t bred to be eaten? Neither were pigs, until we decided that they were dirty animals and were far beneath us. Chickens can be bred and domesticated and are more intelligent than dogs are. Again, why do we eat them and not our dogs. If we’re going to eat animals, who’s to stop us from eating every animal? Do we think that we’re being more humane by not eating our pets? Well, I for one am more disgusted with us for BREEDING animals with the sole purpose of being eaten. These animals to not get to live before we kill and eat them. I’m not going to eat another single one.

I love this earth and I love the life that lives on it. I love the energy that I come from and that we are all a part of and I believe that that means that I should respect and preserve it. I hope that you see if my way and understand where I’m coming from. I’m not asking anyone to do this for me(It’s for our mother earth!! God, I’m soo campy.), I’m not going to force a single person into something. I won’t lie and say that I don’t mind people eating animals, but I am not one to judge. Afterall, I like the way that chicken tastes, but it doesn’t mean that I like the way I feel after I eat a chicken. Alcoholics enjoy the way that alcohol tastes, but that doesn’t mean that it’s best for them to be drinking it.

As much as there are certain people who I cannot stand, when it comes down to it, I can’t possibly say that I don’t love them. I respect every bit of energy on this planet and I’m thankful for the life that I live and the life that I will hopefully give to my children, so I feel that it is my duty to respect and love the life that’s on this planet the best that I can, and in my mind, that means not eating my friends.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Pain Au Lait Save the Moos!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



