Save the Moos!

February 25, 2009 at 9:45 am Leave a comment

Everytime my fiance and I go on a roadtrip, or anytime that we even pass a cow feild I remember saying, “Hello, Moos!!”

As long as I can remember, I have thought that these creatures are kind and strong and to be respected. I just finished reading the chapters (In C. David Coats’ Old MacDonald’s Factory Farm) on the treatment of dairy cows, calves and beef cattle. I can’t say that I’m surprised, only disgusted. More and more I want to either find a dairy farm that doesn’t torture their animals or just start consuming ricedream and silk soy products instead of dairy. My compassion is too much for these animals for me to be able to support these practices.

For some reason, while reading all of these things, I feel like everyone should know what happens to these animals. I hold myself back because I know that people either don’t care or don’t want to admit that these things happen. For years, I disconnected the chicken on my plate from the chicken in the barnyard, or more accurately, the chicken in the tiny crowded cages. I didn’t want to admit that the meat I was eating used to be a living, feeling animal that had lived such a tortured life.

I’m not so ignorant to think that my vegetarianism is going to solve this problem completely, but I’m confident in saying that my efforts will not promote this. Not a single dollar of my money will go towards the industry that habitually tortures and destroys these creatures. I love that quote that I read lastnight:

“In point of fact, I am the very opposite of an anthropomorphizer. I don’t hold animals superior or even equal to humans. The whole case foe behaving decently to animals rests on the fact that we are the superior species. We are the species uniquely capable of imagination, rationality and moral choice– and that is precisely why we are under the obligation to recognize and respect the right of animals” Brigid Brophy
Because we are superior, we must protect these animals because the second that we believe that it’s okay and even right to torture, kill and disrespect these creatures is the second that we are brought down to the level of predator and animal.
Entry filed under: Random, vegan, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Wanna Go Veggie with me? A New Look for Dolce Cakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



