Verterra – Plates made from fallen leaves

March 25, 2009 at 7:51 am 1 comment

If you’re like me, you probably want to sustain the planet as much as possible and therefore want to limit all of the junk you toss in the garbage and consequently into landfills. I have one way that you can improve your waste footprint and help Mother Earth: Verterra.

It’s kinda fun to say and you know what, it’s fun to use, too! Verterra puts out a line of plates, bowls and trays that are formed using fallen leaves. The plates and bowls are reuseable as long as you rinse them by hand and are not constantly using the plates or bowls for liquids. Things like tomato sauce or intensly colored soups tend to stain the leaves. But guess what! When you can’t use them any more, you can just toss them in your compost pile! They’re biodegradable, of course, because they’re made of leaves. These plates and bowls are made with minimal processing, no bleach or any other chemicals to alter the state of the material. The leaves are pressed with steam to form them into the shape of bowls and plates.

I can’t wait to start using my Verterra plates and bowls. I know I’ll be ordering some of these. I’m just in love with the idea of eating off of a plate like this. I feel terrible when I’m at picnics and I have to use styrofoam or plastic plates that are going to end up in a landfill somewhere. I like the feeling that I can limit the trash that I produce and help this planet get back to the way it once was.

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Daily Juice – Cafe Review Hey, did you know?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brian Sankey  |  April 18, 2009 at 7:44 am

    I like this!!

    How can I make money off this?

    If you reply to the point please.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



