Google Black – Saving Energy

March 28, 2009 at 9:30 am 3 comments

Recently, I found that there’s a feature on my Mozilla Firefox that allows me to turn the background of my Google page to black. The first thing that I thought: ick. I love the look of a clean, sleek white background. Unfortunately, so does my powerstrip. It takes about 74 watts for a computer screen to display a white background and that means that I’m sucking energy out of my powerstrip as though I’ve turned on another light.

I have my computer on all the time and most of the time I’m able to turn the monitor off or reduce the brightness. When I’m working, however, I can’t avoid the fact that I need my screen to be on. And when I’m working, I like to use the world wide web, via the internet phenom–Google.com— to do research. Considering how much each and every one of  us uses Google, it’s probably a good place to start trying to save money in the digital arena. I found this info at ecoiron.blogspot.com (Via, you guessed it, Google.com)

Take at look at Google, who gets about 200 million queries a day. Let’s assume each query is displayed for about 10 seconds; that means Google is running for about 550,000 hours every day on some desktop. Assuming that users run Google in full screen mode, the shift to a black background [on a CRT monitor! mjo] will save a total of 15 (74-59) watts. That turns into a global savings of 8.3 Megawatt-hours per day, or about 3000 Megawatt-hours a year. Now take into account that about 25 percent of the monitors in the world are CRTs, and at 10 cents a kilowatt-hour, that’s $75,000, a goodly amount of energy and dollars for changing a few color codes.
That’s something to chew on.

r

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hey, did you know? Earth Hour: 2009

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aubrey  |  March 29, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I like blackle.com, it’s still a google search, it saves energy and it looks cool.

    Reply
  • 2. Sichalcoche  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Neat information:D I will definitely come back soon=D

    Reply
  • 3. lední brtník  |  August 18, 2009 at 3:26 am

    yes, only for fossil crt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



