Earth Hour: 2009

March 30, 2009 at 8:38 am 1 comment

I’m pretty sure that around 8:30pm on Saturday, my neighbors assumed that I didn’t pay my electric bill. From the outside, all you could see was my at my kitchen table, eating dinner alone next to a candle. My dinner was delicious, thanks for asking, and why candle light? Well, I wasn’t trying to get romantic with myself, by any means. You could say, however, that Mother Earth and I were on a little date. We celebrated Earth Hour together, her and I. I loved it, told  her that I’d call her soon.

But what IS Earth Hour, blog lady? I’ll tell ya! Earth Hour started out as an experiment in Sydney, Australia. The city voluntarily turned out their lights for one hour on March 31st, 2007 to see how much energy they could save and to see how many people are interested in saving it. The city went black the second that the hour started, and instead of everyone panicing or dreading it, each person that cooperated turned off their lights in celebration.  In 2008, it went global and major cities all over the world took part in Earth Hour. 50 Million people participated in Earth Hour 2008, and it’s guessed that even more people participated in 2009, this past Saturday.

I’m Robin from Austin, TX, and I Vote Earth!

Entry filed under: environment. Tags: , , , , , .

Google Black – Saving Energy Green Tees

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. male sex toys  |  May 14, 2013 at 12:34 am

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you
    been blogging for? you make blogging look easy.
    The overall look of your site is fantastic, as well as the content!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



